New Atwood Collection/Costa Winner/Warren-Brooks Award – Poetry News Roundup January 29th

Today on My Poetic Side we bring you the new poetry collection from Margaret Atwood and the winners of this year”s Costa Book of the Year award and the Warren-Brooks Award.

New Poetry Book For Margaret Atwood

The Canadian author and poet Margaret Atwood has announced that she will be publishing a new collection of poetry in November. Titled “Dearly”. This will be her first collection of poetry in over a decade. Her last collection was “The Door”, which was published in 2007.

Dearly will be a somewhat eclectic collection of poetry with a look at ageing, retrospection, absences and endings, it will also feature sirens, werewolves and aliens.

The book is to be published by Chatto & Windus, who published Atwood”s most recent novel, the long-awaited sequel to The Handmaid”s Tale. The feel that the book is a playful exploration that looks at everyday objects as well as the more unusual ideas. Every poem in the book is filled with the curiosity and energy that Atwood puts into all her writing. They also confirmed that Atwood will be narrating the audiobook for the new poetry collection herself.

Atwood published her first collection in 1961. Whilst she is perhaps better known as a novelist, she was actually a poet first. She realised that she wanted to be a writer from a very early age and when she composed her first poem as she walked home from high school. She knew that it was the only things she wanted to be in the future.

Costa Book of the Year

The winner of the 2019 Costa Book of the Year has been announced as Jack Fairweather the winner of the Costa Biography Award for “The Volunteer”.

The book recants the life of an unsung Polish underground operative who was an unsung hero of the Second World War.

Fairweather beat the overall winners of the category prizes which were awarded earlier this month including the debut poetry collection of Mary Jean Chan

The award ceremony took place last night in London, when the winner of the Costa Short Story Award was also announced.

Warren-Brooks Award Winner 2019

The book “Wordsworth’s Poetry, 1815-1945”, which was written by Tim Fulford has been selected as the winner of this year”s Robert Penn Waren-Cleanth Brooks Award as a literary criticism and scholarship that is outstanding.

The judging committee was impressed by the innovative way in which Fulford used close reading in his book. This is a technique that was advocated by Brooks and Warren.

The book “Wordsworth’s Poetry” takes a look at some of the later works of William Wordsworth which are often overlooked by those who are studying his poetry. He also takes a look at how during the course of his life his writing developed and he was influenced by other poets. The book offers a real insight into the poet who was influenced by both politics and history.

Fulford, who is the author of a number of books on the poetry of the Lake Poets, is a Professor at De Montfort University.

The Warren-Brooks Award is an annual one that is given by the Robert Penn Warren Center which is at WKU.

You must register to comment. Log in or Register.